Platinum Sounds: The Symphony Turns 70

Event Description

This platinum anniversary concert highlights The Symphony’s brilliant principal players in Concerto Grosso, American composer Jonathan Leshnoff’s work, previously commissioned for our 60th. Violin soloist and multi-Grammy© nominee Philippe Quint brings his imaginative approach to Mendelssohn’s gorgeous Violin Concerto in E minor, Op. 64, one of the most prominent and highly regarded works in the concerto repertoire for violin, while Johannes Brahms’ monumental Symphony No. 1 in C minor, Op. 68 – which took the composer 21 years of revisions to declare ready for public performance in 1876 – will bring the evening – and our 70th Anniversary Subscription Season – to a triumphant close.

The Artists
Nir Kabaretti, Conductor
Philippe Quint, Violin


Jonathan Leshnoff | Concerto Grosso (Commissioned for The Symphony’s 60th Anniversary)
Felix Mendelssohn | Violin Concerto
Johannes Brahms | Symphony No. 1 

Registration Info

Contact Name:

Contact Email:


The Granada Theatre – 1214 State Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93101


Date & Time

05/14/2023 3:00 pm


Season Subscriptions on Sale NOW at

Single Tickets on Sale Sept. 1, 2022 – $35, $55, 80,. $115, $175  at The Granada Box Office